Back to Taiwan Caucus


For immediate release                                                              January 21, 2004


On January 21, Democratic Presidential candidate Senator Joseph Lieberman joined the Senate Taiwan Caucus, thus becoming the 19th Senator on the Caucus. The Senator stated to FAPA that he would "of course join the Taiwan Caucus, because that is where my heart lies."

The Caucus now boasts the membership of the following 19 Senators: Senators George Allen (R-VA - co-chair), Tim Johnson (D-SD - co-chair), Byron Dorgan (D-ND), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Ben Nelson (D-NE), Jay Rockefeller (D-WV), Kit Bond (R-MO), Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Jeff Sessions (R-AL), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), James
Inhofe (R-OK), Sam Brownback (R-KS), Tom Daschle (D-SD), Trent Lott (R-MS), Arlen Specter (R-PA), Max Baucus (D-MT), Zell Miller (D-GA), Charles Schumer (D-NY) and Joseph Lieberman (D-CT).

FAPA President Ming-chi Wu, Ph.D. states: "Joe Lieberman is a long time friend of Taiwan. He pioneered the introduction of Senate legislation in 1992 in support of UN membership for Taiwan. So his support for Taiwan comes as no surprise. It comes as a pleasant surprise though that he now joins the Taiwan Caucus being a presidential candidate. That he joined the Caucus adds tremendous
clout to this already prestigious Senate Taiwan Caucus."

Wu concludes: "Within the past three weeks Lieberman spoke out strongly in support of a Taiwan referendum while campaigning in Iowa, and he has now joined the Taiwan Caucus. We expect the Senator to continue going the extra mile for Taiwan."

Any question? Please email: or Call: (202)547-3686